Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Eye Lashes on Sale in River Island

I went into River Island today and spotted some eye lashes on sale.They were only €2 I got them for my sister for when she is doing her dance competitions reduced from €9/€9.50. Two of them are from the Bollywood Collection and the plain black are called Black Widow. They have Black lacy over the eye lashes I seen similar ones in the Make-up store. A great bargain. I got mine in RI in Henry Street, Dublin!

Friday, December 11, 2009

Beyonce Concert in the 02 Dublin

I went to see Beyonce in the new O2 in Dublin the other night.

Good points:
  • Beyonce was brilliant. She really puts on a show from her songs to her outfits to her band and dancers. It seems that everyone is brought into the show.

  • I cant remember how many outfit changes but there was a good few and while she was off changing. It wasn't just music playing while we waited for her to come back her band done there own little solos and so did her dancers.

  • Song choices went from her new stuff to older albums to duets to a remix of Destiny Child songs. I wouldn't be that up on her newer stuff so I really enjoyed the mixture.

  • She talked to the crowd and moved around the stage to another smaller stage and even came down and walked past the crowd.

  • We were able to understand her talking compared to Lily Allen all we could understand from her was Dublinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!

  • She even sang Happy Birthday to people in the audience

Bad Points

  • I would have to say that I wasn't very impressed by the venue. There is no wow factor. It was my first time and when I walked in I was like is this it.

  • Ticket prices was a bit expense at €70

  • Merchandise- her T-shirts in the O2 was €30, Outside they were €20/25 and on my way home they were €5 so my advice would be wait till after the concert

  • I don't think there was any bad points on Beyonce's performance

I would go to see her again if I had the money to spare.

Some pics from the concert

Friday, December 4, 2009

Makeup Haul-What I bought in Belfast!

Sorry for long post it’s a little recommendation as well :-)

Ruby & Millie Compact Base in Shade 1. It is the lightest shade. I love the packaging its so slim and it comes with a small sponge and a Base bag! The foundation is so creamy when you first open it but when I put it on my skin it made my skin so dry and flaky I had to take my make up off and put a moisturiser under neat it. The amount of product is also very little 6g compared to my other foundations that is 4 times that amount and they are cheaper. Now for the price its not cheap I paid 16 pounds which is around 18 euros for a drug store brand. I wouldn’t recommend this product and wouldn’t buy it again.

Ruby & Millie Loose Power No. 1. I had already a loose power for Ruby & Millie, my cousin gave it to me in No. 2 and it was so pale. So buy mistake I picked up No.1. It would really have to be only used in the Winter when my skin is so light. It is a good power if you cant find a light enough shade. Which I cant and you wouldn’t use a lot of the product either. I would buy it again.

My first time using or buying N.Y.C products I was just having a look in Semichem not sure what for now! And I picked up a few N.Y.C things:
The Lippin Large Lip Plumper
Color Wheel Mosaic Face power In 723A Pink Cheek Glow
Lipstick no. 412B Mauve Gold
And Long-wearing Nail enamel in 115A Skin Tight Denim Creme

The Lippin Large Lip Plumper ( its called Strawberry scouffle)£3.49 and I love it. I do feel the tickle when I put it on and my lips do feel a little plumper and I love the smell its smells like a stick of rock you get on holidays. I would recommend this and would definitely buy another one. I wasn’t really impressed with the colours available.

Color Wheel Mosaic Face power In 723A Pink Cheek Glow £3.99
I love how it looks in the box put not really sure if its my colour. I’m a little scared of pink cheeks! I think I will give it to my sister. I think I would pick up the Brown option next time.

Lipstick no. 412B Mauve Gold £1.99
I haven’t really had much of a chance of using this. I think its more of a night out lipstick it has little specs of glitter so will try it out the next time I’m heading out.

Long-wearing Nail enamel in 115A Skin Tight Denim Crème £2.49
I think the nails are a little bit on the long side! I have used this twice. The 1st time painted my names on the way home on the train. You would need around 2/3 coats but here comes the warning when I took it off the next day it made my nails and fingers Blue. You would need a lot of nail polish remover if you don’t use a base underneath. On my 2nd time I did and it was a lot easier to come off. It didn’t chip very easy and you could get a week or 2 if you looked after your nails. Make sure to put a top coat on as well. I would recommend they and I would go for other colours. There was a lovely green. Will pick it up the next time J

I also picked up some Natural Collection products from Boots they were any 3 products for £5! I picked up 3 lip products,:

Lip gloss in Vanilla. Just a clear lipgloss. I like the smell but that’s about it. Its not sticky and there is no or little shine from it either. I wouldn’t buy again.
Lip balm in Caribbean Crush. Nothing amazing. I would rather have my lip balms from the Body Shop or just use Vaseline. I wouldn’t buy again.
Moisture Shine Lipstick in Apple Blossom. I have had hear some good reviews on this product. I like that’s its just a nude colour. Drawback for me was that the 1st time I used it broke off. I would buy again thought!

URBAN DECAY Deluxe Eye shadow in Underground £13.00
My new eye shadow love. I had seen a similar colour on You tube and when I checked I was informed it was discontinued so I got the nearest colour to it. It so easy to put on you could use it with out a brush. It like velvet. I would definitely buy it again and would look into buying other colours. I have being hinting to my sister for my xmas!

Hope you enjoyed and Have you got any recommendations?

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

My Halloween Costume

So I decided for this Halloween to make my own costume and I roped my mammy into help me.

So this is what I needed to make the Cape and apron. I kinda did it last minute as in the night before Halloween.........I know very bold.

So I was in house hold shop and they were selling red bedsheets so I picked up on of them and I went to the fabric shop to pick up the fabric for the apron.

Here is the finished article. Ta Da.....what you think???????

Vitamin C: How I use it :-)

So if you follow me on Twitter you will have seen I have being sick with a Viral Infection. So haven't had any energy to do anything apart from sleep.

I spent 2 hours waiting to see the doctor and I was in there 2 minutes and she was like its a viral infection cant give you anything. No advise on what to do or take, So I was wasn't happy waiting 2 hours for this response and said I wanted a antibiotic and she gave me one. Which after more research wouldn't do me any good.

So for the past 2 weeks along with lots of sleep this is what I have being taking:

Manuka Honey (either on its own or mixed into Orange juice, Its very sweet and make you feel a little sick!) Lockets Honey and Lemon ( they are all over my room) and this is something new I have being trying. When ever I'm sick its usually to do with my throat so I try to get extra Vitamin C so I take Beeline Effervescent C Vitamin C+ Zinc tablets. One in water every day or sometimes 2 a day. But I have noticed that it was getting harder to take them. So I experimented with a glass of water mixed with squash (ie. Robinson's drink Orange) and a Effervescent C Vitamin C+ Zinc tablets and it tastes very similar to Fanta Orange!

This is a good option if you don't like the Effervescent tablets on there own.

Something else I use when I have a cold or Flu is A.Vogel Echinaforce Resistance drops. The smell or taste mixed with water isn't great but I mix mine with Robinson's black current drink and its masks the smell.

Let me know if you have tried this or any other portions when your sick.

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Mid week ramble!!

So I have being very good and not spending. The reason for this is there is the wedding i'm going too, a couple of concerts before xmas and Christmas its self and some of the girlie's is looking to do a weekend away in the next couple of weeks and I want to get a new pair of uggs and I'm thinking of getting my teeth whitened. But I know I cant do them all so I'm trying to stay away from city centre.Its not easy when I don't live very far from city centre.

I needed to get my eyebrows shaped. I used to go to the salon every couple of weeks but it just got to expense and I couldnt really find anyone that I trusted to do them. I am very nervous with people touching near my eyes and I have had a bad experience in the past with having no eyebrows left and having to wait for months to finally get a eye brow to grow back. So my mam suggested a place yesterday and I was little 'o I dont know' so she was like come on my treat so she booked a early appointment for us both. We had a appointment for 11 o clock and by 2 minutes past we were both finished. They are skinner that what I would usually do my self so I'm still undecided!

So in the last month or so I have got into watching videos on YouTube and I love finding someone new. Just by chance I came across this lad swoozie06 the other night. He has the most random of stories. I would definitely recommend him out and check him on you tube.

Do you know any other good you tubers or blogs?

Friday, September 25, 2009

20 question tag

I haven't being tagged to do this put thought it could be interesting!!

1.Things you cannot leave the house without

My purse that has every plastic card I own, laser, boots card, Tesco card, Dunnes card, health insurance, Luas card- you get the point, money, Mobile phone, lip balm, keys, hair clips and tissues!

2.Favourite brand of makeup
Rimmel, Elizabeth Arden, Boots 17, Miss sporty and Essence ( love drug store brands)

3.Favourite flower
Sunflowers I just think they are so pretty and Lillie's they are suppose to be a flower for funerals put I think they are lovely and I always buy them for my mammy!

4. Favourite clothing store
Penny (primark), Dunnes, Evans, Topshop and River Island

5. Favourite Perfume
Vera Wang- the smell is so light, Britney's curious- I mentioned once I liked the smell and its all my mam is buying me, Paco rabanne black xs and I love the Vanilla perfume from the Body shop

6.Heels or Flats
During the day I have to wear flats. I just cant be bothered to put my feet in pain and only when I go out dancing is when I decide to wear heels ( mostly small heels ;-) I am only 5'2 and all most of my friends are taller than me so I don't see a point in killing myself just to be a bit taller

7. Do you make good grades
I did when I was in school....But then I went to college and it changed and had to repeat some exams.

8. Favourite colours
Pink, black and white

9.Do you drink energy drinks
I did when I was in college I'm not sure if they did any use. I think when you know you have to study you just put more effort in and its not the drink

10.Do you drink juice
yes. Orange and Fruit juice and diluting juice black current and orange

11. Do you like swimming
NO I hate swimming -the reason for this was I forgot how to swim! I used to be able when I was younger and then I forgot. I didn't like when they made you jump in the pool. I don't like my head under water.

12. Do you eat fries with a fork
At home yes most of the time and restaurants some times If its a fancy place then yes

13. Favourite moisturiser
E45 its really good and I have started using the Primark body butters and they are brilliant

14. Do you want to get married later on in life
Yes I would but not putting all my hopes on that since I haven't even got a boyfriend at the moment. Put my uncle did get married for the 1st time at 60! so I still have hope :-)

15. Do you get mad easily
with my family yes I can get mad easy with my friends I would say no I tend to hold it in.

16. Are you into ghost hunting

17. Any phobias
Yes birds any type especially pigeons. I hide or scream when they fly at me. I think they will fly into me.

18.Do you bite your nails
No its horrible I just couldn't. next question

19. Have you ever had a near death experience
Yes, twice I nearly got knocked down by car on both occasions and spooky it was a red card both times

20. Do you drink coffee
No I don't like any hot drinks well apart from soups!

Please feel free to do this tag

Talk to you soon

Jen XX

Missmercurylady is having her 1st blog giveaway!!

Missmercurylady is having her 1st blog giveaway!!

Here are the rules:

1. Must be a follower

2. Must post her giveaway on your blog.

3. Post the link where you posted her giveaway in the comments section


4. Tell her one of your TOP HGs and why should she try it in the comments section.

**If with this giveaway she somehow hit 100 followers, she will throw in 4 more prizes. So 5 winners total.

WINNER will be selected using

Contest will end October 13!

ona jewelry giveaway!

ona jewelry is having a great competition :-)

The rules are as follows

Rules:1. Must be a follower

2. Mention my giveaway on your blog

*winner will be randomly picked from follower list! This giveaway will end on September 30th!

Sunday, September 20, 2009

I'm feeling so sad...

This hasn't being a good week for me and it doesn't seem to be getting any better. I had big plans with my dad to go shopping in Belfast on Friday and at the start of the week he came down with man-flu so that wasn't looking too good for my shopping trip and then looked on the net and its a extra 45 Min's and a extra bus to get to Belfast so we decided we will wait for another while to go.

Then I was suppose to be going out on Thursday with some old work people and that fell through. I was talking to one of the girls and asking had she any plans for Friday and herself and one of my other friends got invited to a wedding. So that was them out of action. So my sister and I had plans to go shopping on Friday, She started a new job and was planning a big shopping spree which ended with her moaning about her feet being sore over her new wellies. I told her not to wear them did she listen NO! Then we had a fight and ended up walking home not talking to one another. The only stuff I got the whole day was some black and dark silver chains, bangles, earring and another Glo Baby Glo in Pinky n Flirty. I have it on my nails and I put it on my mam's as well. o and a grapefruit lip balm that I love and but it on every few minutes

So I decided with the winter coming in that I would get my Ugg's out of there box and wear them tomorrow with this new dress I brought but haven't wore yet and I just noticed that they are falling apart..I'm really sad now. I will have to start saving to get some new ones... I'm getting sadder now. I have to stop now.

Thursday, September 17, 2009

Mamma Mia number 2

I heard earlier this evening that there is going to be a mamma mia number 2 minus ABBA songs. It will be just a mix of random songs isn't the whole mamma mia franchise not suppose to be around ABBA songs. I don't know if its going to be able to out do Mamma mia. Will have to wait to see the trailer for this to make up my mind on this. I loved the movie I went with a couple of girls for a work night out and was surprise that I liked it. I am not a huge fan of musicals. I did buy it on DVD and when I'm in the mood for a bit of sun and singing I stick it on. The DVD came in a singing box and also included a Notebook and a pen!! I love the scenery in this movie..

Random Rant!

So I am still looking for a new job and with this recessionary times its not easy. The industry that I am looking to get into is really affected by how the economy is at the moment. Over the past couple of months I have looked and made changes to my CV and its so annoying. Its the one thing I hate doing in the whole world. I just find it really hard to talk about my self in a work sense. I spent a hour trying to come up with a personal profile that I would be interested in reading. Does any body ever read them? I went for a interview as a voluntary position and the interviewer hadn't even read my CV let alone my personal profile. If only I had finished college earlier and I would have gotten a couple of years experience behind me. There's my random rant over with :-)

Monday, September 14, 2009

Sorority Row Review

So spare of the moment I went to see Sorority Row the reason for this was there was soaps on! Sorry review took so long its being a busy couple of days.

This film is definitely in the teen horror category apart from none of them are teens. Its a cross between Scream and I know what you did last summer. Two films I loved back in the day. It is a remake of The house on Sorority Row

Sorority Row is about 6 seniors that belong to a sorority hence the name and a prank that goes very wrong. From my experience in college and college parties its a bit over the top. Some great scary scenes in the film, so the odd thing I found was all the male actors looked the same and I found it hard to tell the difference between them. There is some very funny moments bit odd in this time of movie.

Who is in it: Audrina Partridge from the hills, Rumer willis, Carrie Grant.

Would I go see it again: Yes, I probably will have to go again with my other friends because they are giving out I went to see it without them. I would pick it up when it comes out on DVD.

Marks out of 10: 8 out of 10 would recommend if you are looking for a trip down memory lane and you liked scream and I know what you did last summer. I can see there being a Sorority Row 2 coming along.
Sorority Row Trailer

Saturday, September 12, 2009

Sorority Row Review

Hope to have a review on this in the next couple of hours :-)

Twilight- I think I'm the last person on the band wagon

So I just watched Twilight......I know I'm the last person that has seen the film...I was just thinking how come I didn't see it. I remember hearing the buzz about it before it came out from what little I seen or heard from my friends. I would have went the cinema probably every week when I was in college but the big J came along after college.

Yes, a job and looking back now I realise why I didn't go to see it. I hadn't got the time. How sad is that. So sad. The job I had was a commute of under 2 hours there and back so when I came home in the evening/night. Well maybe it wasn't night it just felt like it because I never seen direct sunlight I was too tired and the weekends was a blur. Mostly spend sleeping, nearly falling asleep when going out for a drink and getting ready for the next week

My mind wandered off there. So Twilight I really liked it and worth the wait! Edward reminds me of Angel from Buffy! Some things that I noticed it's a problem I have. Attention to detail. usually in movies vampires cant be in sunlight, you cant see them in mirrors or get there photo's taken but it was the opposite in Twilight. Just thought it was odd :-)

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

The Ugly truth Movie Review

So I went to see The ugly truth with one of the girls the other night. This film is definitely a Rom com and I would have thought it was a girlie film. I went on date night and through out the film all I could hear was the lads in the cinema laughing.

The main characters are Abbie played by Katherine Heigl (from Greys and 27 Dresses) and Mike played by Gerard Butler (from p.s I love you)

So whats it about? Katherine plays a TV producer who is looking for Mr Right well more like Mr perfect. Gerard's character is a chauvinist presenter who convinces Abbie that he knows what men want and he can help her find Mr Right.

There is a couple of funny moments in this movie. Most memorable the scene in the restaurant and my other favourite scene is the tree scene. Don't want to give away too much!
I would definitely go see this again and I will definitely pick it up when it comes out on DVD. Katherine Heigl and Gerard Butler are too favourite actors at the moment and it was a great combination to have them both in the same movie. I would love to see them do another movie together.

Marks out of 10: a 9 out of 10.

Sunday, September 6, 2009

Lily Allen latest Album review (It's Not Me, It's You)

So one of my friend's birthday came up and I was asked would I fancy a ticket to go to Lily Allen in Concert in December. The tickets where cheap enough I think just under 40 Euro. So I was yea count me in. Then I realised I knew about 2 songs from her new album. I seen her at oxegen this year and didn’t know many songs. So thought best get her album.

I have it on my I tunes and Ipod and its one of the 1st albums I go to when I want to listen to something a bit cheeky and upbeat.

My favourite songs are:
Everyone's At It and 22- a great songs to sing along too, thank god I have no one living beside me at the mo!
Back to the start- it brings back memories of Oxegen and I love the dance feel of it.
Fuck you- I have to say I don’t like the swearing but I like the music
It’s not fair- it has a country vibe and its really catchy and the lyrics are a bit naughty ;-)
Never Gonna Happen and He Wasn't There - just because they have a usually feel of them.

These are the Track listing:

Ÿ Everyone's At It
Ÿ Fear
Ÿ Not Fair
Ÿ 22
Ÿ I Could Say
Ÿ Back To The Start
Ÿ Never Gonna Happen
Ÿ Fuck You
Ÿ Who'd Have Known
Ÿ Chinese
Ÿ Him
Ÿ He Wasn't There

I wouldn’t have being a huge Lily Allen fan but this album has changed my mind. It’s a definitely a hit for me and I have recommended it to my friends I’m really looking forward to seeing her in concert. Only another 4 months… I would give it a 8.5 out of 10

Has any one else got her album. What did you think? Please feel free to leave a comment

Friday, September 4, 2009

I went shopping!!!!!!!!!!!

So I went shopping in the last couple of days and I have too say I'm loving the recession for the bargains!!

So I bought a couple of things.......

Nail Polish
I have being very good and decided to let my nails grow and give myself a French Manicure. I decided that I would go for a new White tip and a clear gloss nail varnish instead of buying the Elegantouch French Manicure Rapid Dry Formula in Natural Pink and I'm always let with the pink base!! So into Boots I went and Its so hard to choose. So seen that Revlon was having a offer on there nail polishes 6 euro instead of 9 euro. I love a bargain. So picked up a white and a clear. Well what I thought was a clear which turned out to be a clear base coat and ruined my manicure so wasn't happy at all so I had a gotten a voucher for No7 and I usually don't bother with them so popped in to Boots again and picked up the Stay Perfect Nail Colour for €1.50 a bargain I have to say.

Cleaning Make up
So I came across this video on YouTube Disinfecting Your Makeup - Including Eye shadows from gossmakeup artist and I thought it was brilliant. I am a bit of a germ freak any way and I wanted to clean my make up. So his tip was to get Surgical spirits, put some in a spray bottle and spray your makeup. So that's what I did I put everything I own on paper towels in the bathroom and sprayed away. I picked up a 500ml bottle for around 4 euros in Boots.

Batiste Dry Shampoo Tropical So I am late on the band wagon for dry shampoo the reason for this I just didn't think it would work for my hair. I would have oily roots so never bothered. So I went to oxygen and thought I would be fine with mouse and hats put I was a fool I felt dirty so my friend gave me a couple of sprays and it worked. So picked up the Tropical (green cap) for around €3.60 in boots

Eye Pencil, lip gloss and Body butter decided I was gonna try a new look and invested in a black pencil and a red lipstick but to my disappointment the red lipstick had falling out of my basket :-( I didn't realise till I got home but lucky enough I had popped into Penny's (Primark) on the way home and seen a red lip gloss that I thought would work just to put a bit of shine on my lips. I tried it and was brilliant for a red lip so was glad I ended up for getting the lipstick! The pencil I got was 17 Eye liner in Onyx its not great to be honest wears off very easy and would need to be touched up on a night out. So everyone has probably seen that Penny's (Primark) are doing make up and beauty products now. So they were selling off some of there body butters and I picked up there Passion Fruit for a euro......i loved the Body shop body butter put think there are a bit over priced at 17 euro. So I was dropped in again yesterday and they are doing a duo pack in a smaller version. Picked up a strawberry and coconut and they are lovely. They were only a euro.......

Other things I bought was....

A black studded bag for €15 euros in Awear. It's lovely it's really soft leather feel with stud's over the front and the the strap is detachable. So can be used as a clutch as well. The best thing I love is that the inside is pink so easy to see inside in a pub or nightclub!

Snoods. (a combination of a hood and a scarf) so I love Gok wan and he has being wearing them for ages and I always wanted one!! They are suppose to be big for this season. River Island have a couple on there website. So my sister came home and said Penny's ( Primark) were doing them I rushed in the next day and picked some up. I got 3 colours a black, Blue and a grey. They have fringes on them so not sure if I will cut them off yet!!!

I bought a couple of things yesterday so I will talk about them after I try them out!



Tuesday, September 1, 2009

The Final Destination (4th Movie)

So went to see The Final destination in 3D over the weekend with my friends. For anyone who hasn't heard of the Final destination movies where have you being!!

The basis concept is that Death has a design and there isn't a way too beat it but they will have a good time trying. So it starts with the main character Nick played by Bobby Campo getting a premonition of what death has in store for everyone. Then for the rest of the movie he tries to save the people that death didn't catch the first time round! See I didn't give much away.

Best things about this movie: That it was in 3D. I did hide behind my jumper and scream out aswell.

Worst things about this movie: It wasn't as good as the other 3 movies and that myself and i thought the plot didn't really feel like it was going in the correct order. In the other movies the was a certain order aka Death's Design but this movie left me going oh what your man, how come they didn't die! Not good.

Marks out of 10: 6.5

Would I go to see it again or buy it on DVD: No thanks for both